Day Made: The Stage Fright Soundtrack is Here!

Posted: October 10, 2014 in Horror Blog
Tags: , , , ,

As a side note, before I go on, I want to say sorry for slacking on the Throwback Terror reviews. The last few weeks have been pretty crazy for me. I’m hoping to have a few for you next week.

But anyway…

MY DAY HAS BEEN MADE, and it’s only 11:19 AM. What can make me feel this way? The fact that Stage Fright’s soundtrack has officially been released! Now, apparently it was released the 23rd if September (man that would have made for an awesome b-day gift) but I’m just finding out about it today. Words cannot express how excited I am about this.

Stage Fright is film released earlier this year that just absolutely blew my socks off. But it wasn’t scary. No. It was funny. It was seriously the funniest film I had seen in a long time. The first time I watched it I was in tears I was laughing so much. This is a film made by theatre people FOR theatre people. Now… if you aren’t a theatre person, you probably wont enjoy the film that much, since almost all of the jokes are “inside” jokes that really only people who know theatre will understand. Not that there isn’t pleanty of other humor, but the real gags and one liners go out to us “theatre geeks.”
You can also tell that the creators have a real passion for horror. Now, as I said, the film isn’t particularly scary- but that doesn’t mean that the love isn’t there. You can tell that the creators really understand where the genre has been and how it’s evolved. It is a huge throwback to those 70’s-80’s cash in b-rated horror films. I mean, just look at this poster-

It’s gory (like, SUPER gory,) it’s crude, it’s funny, and just some overall fun. Once I had seen the film I wanted my hands on the soundtrack ASAP (it’s a musical, by the way.) But I had watched it mid-summer, and at that time the creators weren’t even sure it was going to get a soundtrack release since it was such a low budget production. But everything in me held on and hoped that this would turn into a Repo: The Genetic Opera scenario, and the soundtrack would eventually be released after the film was officially released and gained it’s following. And low and behold it has. I can sleep easy tonight listening to the sweet melody of “Enter Metal Killer.”

If you have not treated yourself to Stage Fright yet, please do so. ASAP. Rent it, or buy it. Do whatever. You will not be disappointed, especially if you are a theatre person.

Then after you see it, buy the soundtrack and relive the magic because… well, you know that you’ll want to.

Leave a Reply

