“All hail the underdogs,
All hail the new kids,
All hail the outlaws,
Spielbergs and Kubricks.”

FF_onwhite_LG

This past week has been crazy. It’s been one of the most chaotic, jumbled, clustery weeks I have ever experienced… and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

unnamed

I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to work as an assistant producer for Dreaming Tree Films, a Chicago based film production company, on their next feature film which we begin shooting next week. The movie in question being Traveling Without Moving, a scifi story about two sisters searching for their parents, who have been trapped in another world

I’ve been working with DTF for the past three weeks now, with last week being the final week of pre-production. Each week gets more intense than the last, and that is to be expected. But Dreaming Tree has more than just the “normal” stresses of preparing to shoot a film. You see, this also marks the beginning of their Fresh Film’s program as well- a program that takes teens and gives them an opportunity to work alongside us as we make this movie.

I know I keep saying it but this really has been crazy. I mean, I’ve only worked on small projects in the past (technically this is still “small,” as it is an low budget feature) but this is a whole new world for me. This is my first time ever working on something  with this many moving parts. I feel lost a lot of the time, and overwhelmed. But then I look around me and I know that I’m not the only one. It’s a comfort, it really is. We all understand the burden of learning and getting through all these new things and stresses because we want this to not only be a damn good movie, but a great experience for these kids coming in. FIMG_0851[1]rom the get go, during a production meeting where everyone introduced themselves, you can tell that every single person on this production team was passionate about this project- which I believe is the only way people should ever go into a project.

My thoughts on all of it are still jumbled, and it all feels very surreal. I know I’m in for a trip the next two months, but that’s about all I know what to expect. The team we have is awesome, and while there have already been some stressing points I think that once production actually begins everything will fall in to place.

I love how everyone seems to love what they’re doing on this project, and that everyone is willing to help, teach, as well as learn on the team. There is so much I don’t know about film production, but there is always someone there to lend a helping hand and help coach me through what I need to know. It always seems like a lot, but like with anything the more exposure you have with something the better you’ll be able to learn.

It’s also nice to know that the team is willing to bond and hang out as well. Last Thursday one of my favorite moments was being able to just hang out after work was finished that day and just throw a football around. Anybody who knows me knows that July 2nd is not one of my most favorite days of the year, and that day waIMG_0853[1]s also really frantic for all of us on the production as we were scrambling looking for food donations (Dreaming Tree is a 501(3)c and the proceeds from this film are going to charity so… donations are awesome!) as well as makeup artists. It was a long end to a long week for us. Then the producer just offered to everyone to go outside after we were done for the day and throw the ball around. It… was soothing. It just shut everything off and was really relaxing. And on top of all of that we all talked more with one another and found out about each other.

I just don’t know what else to say. I’m thrilled to be a part of this team, and this experience. I don’t necessarily know what to expect. I have so many worries, but I have way more expectations of what I’m going to accomplish during this production and how this is going to help me. I’m finally taking a big step forward into the direction of a field I want to be a part of. I know I’m going to learn so much during this project and that excites me. It’s going to be crazy, and have a lot of ups and downs… that’s really any production, be it theatre or film, that you’re ever going to be a part of. The important part is always how you handle those ups and downs, and what you take away from them. I hope to take a lot away from this experience.

Leave a Reply

